Cosy…or Crazy?

I have a lovely little 4-cup tea pot, cobalt blue with a gilt pattern. I have no idea where I got it, but I love it. On the days that I work in my home office, it sits next to me, attempting to keep me both warm and awake.

But the tea often goes cold before I can drink it all, so I thought I’d try my hand at whipping up a tea cosy. This knitted insulation wraps the pot and keeps the tea hot longer. It’s a low-tech solution that nevertheless works well.

After searching around, I found this very cool pattern on (where else?) Pinterest.

Photo from pattern designer Elizabeth Klevin.

Photo from pattern designer Elizabeth Klevin.

So cute, right? It’s called the Tea Mitten Tea Cosy.

Now, I’m certainly not a master knitter, but I have made scarves, hats, sweaters, and cat toys. With Stitch and Bitch at my side (in case I can’t remember what a pattern abbreviation means), I’m willing to try just about anything.

First effort on the tea cosy? Total failure. By the time I got to row 13, the tea cosy was looking either like a lace experiment gone wrong or a moth hotel. I clearly need to work on my make 1 increases.

Plus I’m doing this on a set of double-point needles. There are five needles, which is tricky, as I only have two hands. For the uninitiated, this is the old-fashioned way to knit a circle. Because there’s no knob on the end of the needle, you can knit with one end of the needle while sliding finished stitches off the opposite end onto another needle. You can also drop and twist stitches at an alarming rate.

I counted at least three instances of my reading the pattern incorrectly, so that might also explain why I kept stitching right through the slit that’s supposed to slide over the handle.

Also, knitting is difficult when one cat sits on your lap attempting to floss his teeth with the yarn while another cat occasionally snatches the yarn ball and tries to take off with it.

My only recourse was to rip it all out and start over. But it’s past midnight, and that way lies madness. I’ve unraveled and wound up the yarn (a mossy green DK wool, for those who are burning to know) and dropped it back in the knitting bag.

I’ll try again tomorrow after I brew a pot of tea.

Categories: Crafty, In the house | Tags: , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Cosy…or Crazy?

  1. Christine R.

    Get some circular needles, already! 😉 Good luck with attempt #2!!

    • Fraudulent Farmgirl

      I was afraid even the smallest circular needle length would be too big. They are so much easier to use that double-pointed ones!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

