The lusty month of May!

Happy May Day! Traditionally Beltane is a holiday celebrating fertility in all its stripes, which makes perfect sense when you take a look at what's happening in the garden. Plants are unfurling left and right, promiscuous weeds are attempting to take over, and the promise of warmer (and hopefully drier) weather is lurking on the breeze. So here's to "the lusty month of May," and the chance for us all to go blissfully astray!

In my garden, the tulips are in full bloom, including some gorgeous ruffled purple "Backpacker" tulips I bought at bargain basement prices at S&H last year. I also bought some fancy daffodils; they opened later than the others and are still blooming their heads off even as the geraniums are opening. The peonies are budding, the lilacs are starting to open, and the strawberries are blooming. 
I've created the new vegetable bed in the front yard with newspaper and compost. I think I'm probably going to have to weed along the path, though; I can see grass coming up there. All my fruit shrubs are in, and I'm going to fill in the maple tree/aronia/goumi bed with yet more strawberries. The fruit sticks are starting to leaf out, and once I get more mulch I'll circle them to make mowing a bit easier. I'm scouting for recycled brick to make a mowing strip around the big round bed too; it's tough not to fling mulch everywhere when I run the mower. 
I've started a load of tomatoes inside; they'll be ready for transplanting in a few weeks. I've also just started melons and summer squash inside. I've never managed to get a ripe melon by direct sowing, so this year I'm trying to get a head start.
In other news, Ginny's bathroom is finally functional! I have to add one more bit of trim, a threshold where the new tile floor meets the vinyl, and install a shower rod (as soon as I find one short enough), but then it's done. Huzzah! She's been really patient. 
The Chicken Coop Caper begins this weekend, with Dan and Mr. Roy coming out to kick a few tires and maybe get the framing done. Updates as they occur!  

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Categories: The garden year | Tags: , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “The lusty month of May!

  1. We can't wait to come over and check out the new chicken run this afternoon. Vin already has the drill packed (right next to extra big boy underwear) in case Mr. Dan needs additional construction help at the very low level.

  2. So how did the building go? I can't wait to see it! Thanks again for all your help last weekend. The geraniums perked up nicely, just as predicted. We had 5 showings over the weekend so I'm glad we had something growing there!

  3. Calvin was indeed a big help, especially when he helped Mr. Dan and Mr. Roy put away their tools. He'll have to come back before we install the girls so he can thoroughly inspect the premises for quality issues. : )

  4. CNR–the frame of the outside run is up and the roof is on. It's so cool! I have to put the hardware cloth and fencing up on the posts, then the run will be done.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

