Decorating Delirium

I can tell it’s winter. Well, of course, just stepping outside would confirm that, but I mean I can tell it’s winter based on my mood. I’m veering between a desire to crawl into bed and not emerge until April and a need to clean out every closet in the house and repaint half the rooms.

Yep, must be winter.
In an update to the curtain catastrophe, I am happy to report I was able to find just enough of the curtain material at the other Joann’s store to finish the second curtain. Too bad I didn’t find it before I bought enough of a completely different fabric to make another set of curtains, but you can’t have everything.
I last painted my bedroom about eight years ago. It’s a wonderful purple-blue color, and I’ve been very happy with it. But now you can see where pictures have hung (side note–why should there be dark rings around the pictures if I don’t smoke and I’ve cleaned the walls? Anyone?) and more than a few random nails. I think it’s time to repaint.
This time, I’m leaning toward one of my favorite blue-green colors. (Blue-green is my signature color. I haven’t decided on a good name. Teal? Sea glass? Bermuda blue?). The recently finished curtains would look great with it, and so would the blue bedspread. I’ll need to make a new duvet cover; white this time, I think, which would at least simplify fabric choice, since I could use sheets. I’d probably want to make lightweight white curtains for summer, too. The color would be much lighter than what I have now and lighter than the Tiffany box blue that’s in the office (which is likely to be next on my decorating hit list).
By the way, the first estimate came in for redoing the basement bathroom. It’s about five times what I had initially planned to spend. Note to self–see if bank will increase limit on home equity line. Still, it absolutely has to be done. Gin is moving in this spring, and no way am I inflicting the current bath on her. Plus one of the contractors who came out pointed to a clump of wires and said, “See that? That’s both dangerous and illegal.” Let’s hear it for the handyman from hell and the do-it-yourself projects I’m still unravelling nine years after moving in.
Updates as they occur!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Categories: In the house | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Decorating Delirium

  1. My project list just got crazy on me too. Dead of winter is a tough time for painting exterior walls though.

  2. True, but we always have a few days of thaw. I've bought the paint, so I just need to wait for the right day.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

