Cold (Or, You’ll freeze your nose hair off out there!)

Right, so, winter. I'm not a fan. This morning the the temperature is a whopping -11 degrees. -11. We haven't had a winter this cold in five years. 

I shudder to think what's happening in my garden. Cold isn't so bad for the plants, but we rarely have that thick, insulating layer of snow that keeps them from heaving out of the ground like the undead as soon as a thaw sets in. There's a bit of snow out there now, but I'm not sure it's enough for the plants. I guess we'll just have to see what survives the winter of 09 come spring.
In other news, I've taken to heating Big Lou's food, because I am a complete sap. Also, see picture at left for my homemade insulation over the cat house. Lou is too big to comfortably fit through the cat-sized door, so I leave the whole front of the house open for him. But when it's cold like this, a fetching collage of several towels over the front creates a gyspy-tent effect to cut the cold. You can't see it very well in the picture, but that's his paw down there in the tiny opening.
Stay warm, people!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Categories: The garden year | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Cold (Or, You’ll freeze your nose hair off out there!)

  1. "heaving out of the ground like the undead"… brilliant image! Although, now I'm a little worried about my garden/our safety.

  2. I have yet to see zombie plants, but that doesn't mean they aren't out there. I hear a circle of salt works well for containment. : )

  3. How about a circle of rogue bodily fluids? That we've got around here in spades. Salt, I'll have to check on.You know… it's almost February. Time to plan the new garden areas around Vin's grassy knoll for spring planting! You know you wanna help. 🙂

  4. You know I do. think about what functions you want to include, and we'll brainstorm soon.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

