I’m Ready for My Close-Up (or, Amy, you’re in my light)

Amy F and I are on the road alone this week. (As you can imagine, this translates to a lot more girl talk than we subject Terry to.) We had done a couple of hours in one garden this morning and were planning to move onto some beds on Mass Ave, but I informed her that if I didn't eat something in the immediate future, I might start chewing on my own arm. She graciously agreed to eat a bit early, so we settled at the outdoor picnic table at Yat's with jambalaya and the newspaper. (We talk to each other all day, so at lunch we usually read the paper and rest our voices.)

While we were catching up on the latest (economy still sucks, politicians still taking swipes at each other, etc.), a guy with a video camera stopped by the table. He was doing man-on-the-street casting for some Fortune 500 company and asked if we'd like to be taped. I can't imagine what made him think we were good prospects. Amy F looked pretty normal, but I had on a grey t-shirt over a blue one, a Spotts Lawn and Garden Service baseball hat, and rhinestone, cats-eye sunglasses. I bet it was the turquoise nail polish that made him want to tape me.
Amy F declined, but god knows I never have any problem with giving others the benefits of my opinion. Plus he wanted me to talk about the environment, which is at least something I can converse on with some confidence. After telling Amy to get out of my shot, I settled back and started pontificating.
He asked what my most pressing environmental concern had been five years ago, and if it was the same now. I told him that five years ago, I thought a lot about global warming. Today, while that's still a concern, I'm more interested in food security issues. When asked what I do to reduce my environmental impact, I said I compost, recycle, grow my own vegetables, hardly ever buy new when I can get by with something old ('cause I'm cheap, but I said I am "frugal"), and bought a car based on its safety and gas mileage. I could have gone on, but I wasn't sure how much tape he had. 
When asked if I wanted to expand on anything, I went into a relatively articulate monologue about how people today are cut off from their environment and we never do anything until about environmental crisis until we can't ignore it any more. Gardening, though, forces you to pay attention. If there's a drought, you're going to see it. If the temperatures are climbing steadily higher, the plants will tell you. So I think children, from the very youngest through those in high school, should have more outdoor education. Teach them to plant seeds and watch them grow and eat the results. Get them out in the dirt and connected to the seasons. I think it's one of the best ways to address our environmental problems while also teaching kids some useful skills.
The camera man told us the name of the company after I finished my speech; Amy and I promptly forgot it. But if they (the shadowy company) are interested in talking to me, they have my contact info. And next time, I'll make sure to take off the sunglasses.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Categories: In the garden | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

