Gardening with Family and Friends

My friends and family are usually the recipients of the potager's largesse. A girl can only eat so many tomatoes, you know? When I worked on a CSA last year, I wound up giving my parents some of my veggies, too. I think maybe it spoiled them.

My mother informed me today that she purchased a very nice pair of garden gloves for me, and a pair for the BF, too! While it was certainly a thoughtful gesture, she wanted to be sure I told him they weren’t free. She expects a tithe from the garden. However, if we're going to make salsa at the farm anyway, she'll just take her share in finished product. She was laughing the whole time she said this, but don’t make the mistake of thinking this was a joke. She wants those tomatoes.

Of course, we are talking about the woman who asked if I had a pregardenuptual agreement about the farm garden. I told her possession is 9/10ths of the law, but since I'm planning on keeping the BF, it shouldn’t be an issue.

Lest you think I love him only for his land and access to horse manure, let me tell you when I knew the BF was a no-question about it keeper. He gave me a gift bag with three wrapped gifts in it, and a card that said he wanted me to be adequately prepared and defended from the veggies, even if he wasn’t there to protect me. The first gift said “Knowledge,” and it was a copy of Organic Gardening magazine. The second said “Self-Defense,” and it was the best Farmer’s Weeder I’ve ever seen. I mean, you could disembowl a deer with this thing, let alone take on weeds. The final gift said “Know Your Enemy.” It was a copy of Attack of the Killer Tomatoes.

That’s when I knew. I knew the way you know about a good melon.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Categories: In the garden | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

